RSS

Waiting for The Gathering by Anne Enright

12 Mar

I’ve been trying to get a hold of this book for more than a week now! Have ordered it online from two different sites without much luck. While waiting, I read The Story of a Widow by Musharraf Ali Farooqi and The Case of the Man who Died laughing by Tarquin Hall. The former, is a sweet, rather sentimental story of a widow getting to terms with life and freedom after losing her husband of more than 30 years. The author uses simple prose and the tale is pretty straightforward. Rather predictable & stereotypical characters. I think it would make a good Bollywood movie! It was an easy read after all the Bookers πŸ™‚

The second by Tarquin Hall, is a mystery series featuring Vish Puri, a most private investigator in Delhi. It is a pithy & humorous read, that looks at the rather seamy world of Indian God-men, their devotees and their detractors. I’ve enjoyed the author’s colorful descriptions of Delhi and the Puri ‘Parivaar’ in his first book in the series, The Case of the Missing servant and this book is no different. Love the irreverence and gentle irony that are such an integral part of Puri’s character and adore his brood of assistants, Handbrake, Tubelight, Facecream and Doorstop! A great, fun read!

Still, want to get back to the ‘List’, and since The Gathering is proving so elusive, I’ve decided I will read some of the other books that made it to the shortlist in 2007. I must confess the thought occurred to me when I realized I had three of the books shortlisted on my bookshelf and had already read two of them! The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid, already a favorite of mine πŸ™‚ and Mister Pip by Llyod Jones also a fabulous read! The third, Animal’s People by Indra Sinha has been languishing on my shelf for a good two years or more, and I guess this is as good a time to make the effort as any! But the book sounds depressing, so I’ve started with The Reluctant Fundamentalist first…a short read at 184 pages, but an explosive one πŸ™‚ This is a one of a kind book that grabs a hold of you and shakes you to your core. No flowery prose, just an economy of prose that makes for deceptively easy reading. And yet, nothing about this book is easy, not the subject matter nor the emotions you’ll feel while you read. I loved it the first time and am happy to report, nothing’s changed! Am on Chapter 5 and still love it!

So that’s the plan for now. Will start on Animal’s People after I’m done with Hamid. I think that’s one that’s going to need a lot of patience and perseverance if the blurb is anything to go by. But then again, reading the ‘List’ has made me more patient & persevering than I’ve ever been with regards to my reading before!

Wish me Luck!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
