RSS

My 2013 Reading List

08 Jan

So here’s my list for 2013. It’s a work in progress and only the first 4 books are in reading order, because I already have them on the shelf. The rest are books purposely listed in no particular order. I would like to read them this year and hopefully will, although I make no promises 😛

reading-book-cool-quotes-034

That’s the Plan!

Even as I review the list now in its incomplete state, it frightens me! Mostly coz it seems like endless months of heavy reading without much lightness and humor, something I’m not used to. Although who knows what one might find in the pages of a book?! The scariest book is without question Lolita, followed closely by Lord of the Flies – I know both these are going to very difficult reads (because of their subject matter), and I think I’ll be skimming over a lot of the let’s just say ‘ugly bits’. Well, so be it. I wanted to step out of my box and if attempting to read Lolita isn’t, I’m sure I don’t know what is!

So, what do you think People? Is this too much serious literature to read in a year? I’m hoping of course to fall back on a few thrillers along the way from Louise Penny, a couple of Mme. Ramotswe books from McCall Smith and a Rick Riordan or two to ensure sanity and remind me that books are meant to be fun too 😉

I’ve been wondering whether I can manage 52 books in 52 weeks…usually this would be a walk in the park, given my reading speed and frequency; but although I’ve read 75 books in 2012, this year I’d like to emphasize on quality rather than quantity and take it slow and steady. And some of the books – East of Eden and A Suitable Boy are more ‘tomes’ than mere ‘books, if you get what my meaning 😛 Well, time will tell…

So wish me luck and feel free to make suggestions!

Here goes…

  1. Narcopolis – Jeet Thayil [Week 1]
  2. A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon [Week 2]
  3. The Private Lives of Pippa Lee – Rebecca Miller [Week 3]
  4. The Cat’s Table – Michael Ondaatje [Week 4]
  5. The God of Small Things – Arundati Roy
  6. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
  7. A House for Mr. Biswas – V. S. Naipaul
  8. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  9. East of Eden – John Steinbeck
  10. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  11. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
  12. The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler
  13. White Teeth – Zadie Smith
  14. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  15. The Oath of the Vayuputras – Amish
 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “My 2013 Reading List

  1. lightningjcb

    January 8, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Reblogged this on Butterfly Tales.

     
  2. crazygoangirl

    January 8, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Thanks for the reblog! Appreciate it 🙂

     
  3. Caroline

    January 14, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    Good luck! The God of Small Things is one of my favourites (:

     
    • crazygoangirl

      January 15, 2013 at 6:01 pm

      Thank you Caroline 🙂 I’m going to need large dollops of it 🙂

       
  4. aspmarauder

    February 16, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Your booklist. 😀
    I’ve read/ have to read or am reading 7 of them. 😀
    Also, Amish is truly brilliant, don’t you think? You would love Arundhati Roy, because she’s such a heart breaker. And oh, dibs on Potato Man (you’ll find out when you read Seth.)
    Have fun reading!

     
    • crazygoangirl

      February 18, 2013 at 7:37 am

      How cool is that? 🙂 It’s always a pleasure to meet a fellow reader with similar tastes 🙂

      I like Amish’s concept…I thought the first book was just Ok writing wise but brilliant concept wise. The second book was better and I’m now looking forward to the third!

      I’ve consciously stayed away from Roy coz,..oh I don’t know…I don’t like her for reasons nothing to do with writing 😛 I’m like that sometimes 😛 Only sometimes! But I need to get over it and read the book this year…and still I keep postponing it!

      Happy Reading 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
