RSS

WWW_Wednesdays 9th Jan

10 Jan

Came across this today on a blog I follow Two weeks from everywhere and although Thursday’s winding down where I live (Mumbai, India), thought I would do it anyway!

To play along, just answer the following three questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

a-spot-of-botherWhat are you currently reading? I’m currently reading A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon. I picked it up because I loved his first book ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’. I am however finding it an uncharacteristically slow read and am only on Page 131 after 3 days which for me is excruciatingly slow. The story such as it is, is not bad, but it’s unnecessarily wordy and detailed methinks. Could have done with sharper editing.

Narcopolis_bookcoverWhat did you recently finish reading? I just finished reading Narcopolis by Jeet Thayil, my first book in 2013. It was longlisted for the 2012 Man Booker. A difficult read about the drug underbelly of my city Mumbai. Although written in luminous prose, it lacks a plot, which again made it a tough read. Read my full review here.

the-private-lives-of-pippa-lee_275x415What do you think you’ll read next? I need a break after two challenging reads, so I’ll probably pick a thriller or a crime novel (my favorite genre), before I get stuck into the 3rd book on my list for the year, The Private Lives of Pippa Lee by Rebecca Miller. For a look at 2013 Reading List click here, My 2013 Reading List. It’s a work in progress and I’ll add more books as I go along.

Take a moment to share your reads too if you will 🙂 It’ll be fun!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
