RSS

www_wednesdays 23rd Jan

23 Jan

It’s Wednesday and time to recap the week past in reading! So here goes…

To play along, just answer the following 3 questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Em and The Big Hoom What are you currently reading? What drew me to this book, Em and the Big Hoom, was it’s title that reminded me of Dr. Seuss for some reason :), the fact that it’s written by an Indian author, Jerry Pinto (I think he might be Goan like me!), and the subject matter. It’s the story of a boy growing up with a mentally unstable mother, and as I’ve just started reading, I don’t know what she’s suffering from yet. But I know it’s going to be good just from the letter on Page 1 🙂

 

 

Rainbow at NoonTarquin Hall - Case of the Deadly Butter ChickenWhat did you recently finish reading? Rainbow at Noon by Dhiruben Patel is a Sahitya Akademi award winning novel written originally in Gujarati. It’s about a monk who returns back to the worldly life after years of renunciation and how he deals with everything that happens next. Interesting read if you like philosophy and existential debate.

The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken couldn’t be more different! The 3rd book in the Vish Puri series by Tarquin Hall, this installment has the erstwhile private investigator trying to solve a murder that involves cricket and match-fixing and a moustache robbery that is just as hilarious as it is unbelievable! I love this series and was pleasantly surprised to find this new case on the bookstore shelf!

 

the-god-of-small-thingsWhat do you think you’ll read next? Well, I haven’t got my hands on The Great Gatsby or The Famished Road yet, so they’re going to have to wait. But meanwhile have got The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy and East of Eden by Steinbeck, but am not too keen on either right now, so I guess we’ll just have to see. I have so many books that I haven’t read yet that are sitting on my shelves and somehow none of them seem to be saying, ‘Pick me! Read Me!” Sigh…Maybe I’ll find something in a bookstore! Suggestions welcome…leave them in the comments section along with your reads!

www_wednesdays is originally hosted by Should Be Reading. 

Happy Reading People 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
