RSS

www_wednesdays 30th Jan

30 Jan

Gosh, is it Wednesday already?! Have had a tough week family wise and so managed to finish just the one book – barely.

To play along, just answer the following 3 questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

The Great Gatsby_1What are you currently reading? Just began The Great Gatsby yesterday and although it’s a slim volume, I can see it’s going to take a LOT of reading, if you see what I mean! But I like the first few pages very much indeed.

Em and The Big HoomWhat did you recently finish reading? A wonderfully, warm and authentic account of one mother’s battle with bipolar disorder from her son’s point of view. Em and the Big Hoom is a rewarding read – Jerry Pinto is spot on with both the symptoms of the disease and the effect it has on the family. I related to this book as a doctor and a Goan (the family in the story is Goan), and will be recommending it to all my friends!

GOODMAN214X135_HB_BLACK.jpg 13385The Taliban Cricket ClubWhat do you think you’ll read next? As you can see got my hands on The Great Gatsby and have also managed to join a library (Hurrah!) and get two books – Phillip Pullman‘s The Good Man Jesus and The Scoundrel Christ and The Taliban Cricket Club by Timeri  N. Murari. Will have to read those coz I’ll have to return them soon.

www_wednesdays is originally hosted by Should Be Reading. 

Happy Reading People 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in www_wednesdays

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “www_wednesdays 30th Jan

  1. stuartnz

    January 30, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    First off, I must say how impressed I am that you keep up with your reading schedule while being a medico AND a Mum – I can’t begin to imagine how I’d cope with that level of busy! I am in awe of anyone with the brains needed to be a doctor, and of those who who are parents, being both simultaneously AND keeping a reading schedule? Words fail me!

    What am I currently reading?
    The Road To Reality – to stretch my maths-phobic brain & learn something important.
    Making Money – book 36/39 in the Discworld series
    Beginning Database Design: From Novice to Professional – to train my mind

    What did I recently finish reading?
    Our Magnificent Bastard Tongue: The Untold Story of English – an interesting but slightly disappointing look at the possible influence of Celtic on English grammar.
    Wintersmith – book 35 in the Discworld series, another interesting YA story.

    What do I think I’ll read next?
    Unseen Academicals – book 37 in the Discworld series, the return of Rincewind!
    The Lexicographer’s Dilemma – another one from the linguistics section of my Goodreads “to read” shelf.

     
  2. crazygoangirl

    January 31, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Hey Stuart…I wish I could say I’m a practicing medico but I’m not, although I like to think I still have the brains 😉 I’ve taken a career break to raise my son and that’s how I manage to read as much as I do. The other VERY significant contributing factor is my insomnia 😛 I do hope this doesn’t seriously dent your opinion of me!

    Thanks for becoming my friend on Goodreads. I find your book choices very intriguing…so different from my very conventional ones. Thanks to you I googled Discworld and it sounds like something I might enjoy…given that I’m a die-hard LOTR fan. What do you think?

     
    • stuartnz

      January 31, 2013 at 7:09 pm

      I highly recommend the Discworld series. It’s called fantasy, but Pratchett himself has said he finds that classification annoying. What they really are is satire dressed up as fantasy – looking at human absurdities on this world by presenting them as as a fantasy set on another world. I see from Goodreads that you (quite sensibly) gave The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide series 5 stars. This please me for two reasons: One, I am a *HUGE* fan of the Guide, and have been since first reading the books and listening to the original radio series just over 30 years ago, besides having a towel with Guide entry for “towel” printed on it. Two, Pratchett’s books are comic in a very similar style to Adams’ and liking The Guide greatly increases the chances that you will enjoy Discworld. Many times I’ve chuckled reading a phrase in Pratchett that sounds almost exactly like something Adams would have said. 🙂

      I decided a couple of years ago to read them in the publication order, but there are several subseries within it that can, and possibly should, be read in their own order. I’ve uploaded a screenshot of the order of the two strongest series within Discworld – the DEATH series, and the City Watch series. DEATH is a brilliantly written character, as is his fascinating grand daughter (once played on TV by Michelle Dockery, now of Downton Abbey), and the City Watch series, a political satire, features Havelock Vetinari, a superbly comic version of Machiavelli. The series features lots of amusing wordplay (as in Vetinari, a play on Medici) and mixes real humour with insightful satirising and examination of human society and beliefs. The thirteen books in the screenshot would give you a good sample of Discworld as a whole, I think, and I’ve also written up my thoughts about some of them on my blog. I hope you do get a chance to check some of them out, I think you will enjoy doing so! 🙂

       
      • crazygoangirl

        February 2, 2013 at 4:32 pm

        Thanks for the info 🙂 You’ve made me very curious now and eager to read the series! So many books…so little time! I like the sound of the Death series…will begin there, but first will have to order online.

         

Leave a Reply

 
