RSS

www_wednesdays 6th Feb

06 Feb

Have had a great week of reading! Have managed to add one more book to my list of all time favorites, and read two more good books, this past week 🙂

To play along, just answer the following 3 questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

The-Famished-RoadWhat are you currently reading? Have just started Booker Prize Winner, The Famished Road by Ben Okri and the first paragraph is very enchanting indeed 🙂 Looks like my kind of book. We’ll see!

 

GoodMan13385The Taliban Cricket ClubThe Great Gatsby (2)What did you recently finish reading? The Great Gatsby has made it’s way onto my list of all time favorites! Fitzgerald’s prose is luminous, his characters unforgettable and their story the stuff of legend! Read my complete review here.

Phillip Pullman‘s The Good Man Jesus and The Scoundrel Christ made for an interesting read. This was written for the Canongate Myth Series in which contemporary writers interpret well known Myths, usually with a modern twist. I enjoyed it! This is my first Pullman book and I would like to read more. Read my complete review here.

The Taliban Cricket Club was also an easy, interesting read. It tells of one family’s struggle to survive in Afghanistan under Taliban rule and the risks they take to escape by attempting to win a Cricket tournament that offers them a chance at freedom. Read my complete review here.

a prayer for owen meany anatomy-of-a-disappearanceWhat do you think you’ll read next? I have a lot of stuff on my To Be Read Bookshelf…maybe I’ll finally attempt The God of Small Things? But I’m leaning toward Anatomy of a Disappearance  by Hisham Matar and maybe later, A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. Who knows 😉

www_wednesdays is originally hosted by Should Be Reading. 

Happy Reading People 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2013 in www_wednesdays

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “www_wednesdays 6th Feb

  1. Munira

    February 7, 2013 at 10:17 am

    H….the only reason I ain’t playin’ along is cos’ I ain’t readin’ nothin’! But my mind is blown by your dedication! Keep it up girl! 😀

     
    • Munira

      February 7, 2013 at 10:25 am

      Btw, I liked God of Small Things, and A prayer for Owen Meany had an impact….read it yeaarrrrsss ago!

       
  2. crazygoangirl

    February 7, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    M…books help me keep sane! They’re therapeutic in so many ways…so I read from an ulterior motive too if you will 😉 You did?! Hmmm…everytime I decide to read the book, I find a way to put it off 😛 I truly don’t know why that is 😉

     
  3. crazygoangirl

    February 7, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I’m referring to God of Small Things of course 😛

     
  4. ocdreader

    February 20, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    I love Phillip Pullman but haven’t read this one yet. Must get my hands on it!

     
    • crazygoangirl

      February 20, 2013 at 4:22 pm

      It’s pretty interesting…and has made me curious about the Canongate Myth series…I’m very into mythology 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
