RSS

www_Wednesdays 13th March

13 Mar

I missed out on last week’s Wednesday coz I was swamped with work and I really missed posting 😦 But here we are again – Another Wednesday, Another Post 😉

www_wednesdays43This theme is hosted by MizB over at Should be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

poirotorientexpressWhat are you currently reading? After reading a couple of depressive books, I needed a break and so returned to an old favorite guaranteed to put me in a good mood – Murder on the Orient Express by Ms. Christie! I can read the book in an hour or two, but I’m reading languidly on purpose to relax and unwind 😉

KaalamWhat did you recently finish reading? Recently finished Kaalam (Time) by M. T. Vasudevan Nair, a renowned Indian author. This is the English version, the original is written in Nair’s native Malyalam. It is a coming of age story, of a young boy Sethu, set within a matriarchal joint family in Kerala, the author’s home state. I found it rather depressing. You can read my review here.

The God of Small ThingsBefore that I finally read The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy and didn’t find it too bad! I liked her style more than the story though, which is also depressing. Most Bookers are in my opinion 😉 Read my review here.

Ironside_228x350And most recently I read Virginia Ironside‘s ‘No! I Don’t Want to Join A Bookclub’, in an attempt to get over the two depressive books and although it began promisingly enough, it got boring after a while. The humor seemed tired and contrived and not very funny. Still it was a light, easy read, although ultimately disappointing. A very average read.

the-correctionsWhat do you think you’ll read next? I have a lot of books on my TBR shelf, none of which seem very appealing at the moment 😛 Isn’t that always the case?! Just an excuse to go out and buy more books coz that’s what I need – MORE BOOKS 😉 Maybe I’ll read Johnathan Franzen’s The Corrections or perhaps Netherland by Joseph O’Neill. Leaning towards The Corrections!

What have you been reading? Share your links in the comments section so I can scout around for more reading choices 😉

Happy Reading People 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in www_wednesdays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “www_Wednesdays 13th March

  1. Gwynneth White

    March 13, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    I also love Agatha Christie. I’ve read every one a few times. Sad that you’ve had such a depressing run, hope it improves. My books are very different to yours 🙂 But you are welcome to check out my WWW at: http://gwynnethwhite.blogspot.com/2013/03/www-13-march.html

     
    • crazygoangirl

      March 13, 2013 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks for dropping by Gwynneth 🙂 Checked out your site and I see you’re into Fantasy! I like it too…just that I’m trying to step out of the box this year and broaden my reading horizons as it were! So far it’s been an interesting journey 🙂

      As for Agatha Christie…I ADORE her!!! Have every book she’s written and know most by heart 😀

       
  2. ocdreader

    March 13, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    i read a few Christie books FOREVER ago. I need to read them because they are super fun and enjoyable. Maybe on my vacations this year, but I don’t own any yet. Easily remedied, but I am starting to freak out a little bit about the number of books on my shelves waiting to be read.
    I know what you mean about depressing books. They bring me way too far down and I find I have to compensate for quite some time..good luck! 🙂

     
    • crazygoangirl

      March 14, 2013 at 1:24 am

      I’m an obsessive Christie fan!! Have all her books and know most of them by heart 😛 although Poirot is my favourite. He and I share the same initials 😉 Now you see what I mean by obsessive 😛

      I know the feeling…of the burgeoning TBR pile I mean! Because of the depressive books I’m still not feeling like picking up a more serious read. Was planning to tackle The Corrections by Franzen, but the size is rather intimidating in my present state. Hopefully soon!

       
      • ocdreader

        March 14, 2013 at 3:18 am

        don’t push it, wait till you are ready. when I do that the I get all wiggly about sitting down with ANY book. I hate that!! Good luck 🙂

         
      • crazygoangirl

        March 14, 2013 at 3:56 am

        Yup! That’s great advice and I’m going to take it!! Thanks 🙂

         
  3. Munira

    March 14, 2013 at 10:19 am

    I have committed myself (for hubby’s sake!) to read ‘Pakistan: A hard country’, and I must confess I’m learning a LOT! Intend to read Ayesha Jalal’s ‘The Sole Spokesman’ a book on Jinnah, the Muslim League and the demand for a separate country.
    Can you believe I’m finally getting political?!
    I walked into a book shop the other day and ALMOST bought Junot Diaz’s ‘This Is How You Lose Her’…..a recommended author by another blogger….didn’t buy it cos I thought it was too expensive :/ ….plus, SO many books waiting on the TBR shelf!

     
  4. crazygoangirl

    March 14, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Aaaw…you’re a good girl M 😉 Do you know, we Saggis are political, no matter how hard we try to bury it within! Kahin na kahin toh nikal hi aati hai yeh baat 😛

    I’ve read a lot of great reviews of Diaz’s book The Wondrous…of Oscar Wao…but I’m all read up for the moment! Never thought I’d say this but am on a break from reading for a bit 😛

     
    • Munira

      March 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      Just happy to see you blogging again 🙂 You are so lively….I love visiting your blog ❤

       
      • crazygoangirl

        March 27, 2013 at 4:22 pm

        And you know I love it when you visit 🙂 How was the book? Did you finish? It must have been a tough read – such books always are.

         

Leave a Reply

 
